INDvsNZ 3rdODI: Neither Southee nor Latham really made an appeal. They both gave the impression that Hooda’s bat had missed the ball. The on-field umpire was also on their side because he quickly indicated a wide. Kane Williamson, the captain of New Zealand, stepped in during that situation.
India all-rounder Deepak Hooda‘s dismissal in the third and final ODI against New Zealand in Christchurch left the commentators and fans bemused.
There was nothing unusual about that caught behind dismissal but it was the circumstances leading to it that made it rather interesting.
It happened in the 34th over of India’s innings when veteran New Zealand seamer Tim Southee cramped Deepak Hooda for the room with a delivery pitched on his half.
Hooda went for the pool but failed to make contact and the ball rested in wicketkeeper Tom Latham’s gloves.
There was no real appeal from either Southee or Latham. Both of them gave the impression that the ball had missed Hooda’s bat.
— BLACKCAPS (@BLACKCAPS) November 30, 2022
The on-field umpire too was on their side as he took no time to signal a wide. That’s where New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson came into play.
When literally no one thought there could be something, Williamson had a hunch and went for the review.
It proved to be a fantastic call. Replays showed Hooda had just got a tickle. And the lanky Indian cricketer knew it as the moment Williamson went for the review he was almost ready to walk back to the pavilion.
The third umpire completed the formalities and gave Hooda the marching orders.
The bowler didn’t appeal, the keeper didn’t seem interested but there was somebody around who thought that they should take the DRS,” said Harsha Bhogle in the commentary.
“It was Kane Williamson,” said former India women’s team captain Anjum Chopra.
The clip of the incident was shared by New Zealand Cricket’s official Twitter handle. It turned out to be an important moment in the game as Hooda and Washington Sundar were just building a partnership.